Nepal in my heart!

When I worked in a corporate office….there was always an IT guy….to me, he was my best friend.  I’m not so sure he felt the same way because I am certain he let my request go to voice mail on occasion.  Other times, I definitely heard a long groan on the other end of the phone. Now, in most cases, I am left to my own devices.   All that to say I have lots to share with you and I am not messing around with IT stuff for awhile.

The devastation and loss of life of the two earthquakes in Nepal are heart wrenching. There is no way of knowing the status of the young women I know.  So, my heart aches, yet motivates me to continual prayer for all the men, women and children.

It is fact that traffickers for laborers and the sex trade see this as prime time to prey on grief stricken, displaced survivors.  Support pours out of us initially, in prayer and giving of money and supplies. However, the aftermath of this tragedy will continue for years to come.  There are many excellent organizations receiving donations to help.  The one that has been closest to my heart is Maiti Nepal.  Anuradha Koirala is truly my hero. She is a widely recognized activist and lecturer who has dedicated her life to combating the sexual exploitation of women and children.  http://www.friendsofmaitinepal.org

At its Kathmandu center, Maiti Nepal is now providing refuge to an additional 200 earthquake victims — children and young women who are homeless and at risk for human trafficking.

Just a reminder that the recovery process is much more and longer than our memories.  The sweet and innocents of this country need us.

 

 

One comment on “Nepal in my heart!

  1. Cathy says:

    You are right that this is such a long process to recover from and overcome. Thoughts and prayers to all those that have passed too in the helicopter crash that was bringing aid to those in need. Tragedy upon tragedy for these people..Thank you to Maiti Nepal for all the great work they do.

Leave a Reply

